NoMethanol360 is excited to have two longtime opponents of the proposed methanol refinery in Kalama running for local positions this election season. Each opposes the world's largest fracked-gas to methanol refinery and supports 100% clean energy projects so as to protect our rivers, air, water, environment, and health, thereby promoting our quality of life.

John Flynn
City Council, Position 4

Win with Flynn!
John beat the incumbent in the primary on August 6th. [RESULTS!!!]
Vote for John in the General Election Tue. November 5th.

Gary Wallace
Port of Kalama, District 2

Ride the Wave for Change!
Vote for Gary over longterm incumbent in the General Election Tue. November 5th.

Important Dates

Ballots mailed out: Fri. October 18


Deadline to register online to vote: Mon. October 28

Deadline to register to vote or update your reg. (in-person only): Tue. Nov. 5

Online Voters Guide, Cowlitz County, 2019 General Election (coming)
General Election: Tue. November 5

Results certified by County Canvassing Board: Tue. Nov. 26
Results certified by Secretary of State: Thu. Dec. 5

Candidate Lists

All 6 Candidates Running for Kalama City Council (coming)
Note: Only those living in the city limits can vote for council.

The 2 Candidates Running for Kalama Port Commissioner
Note: All Kalama residents and some outlying precincts can vote for port.

Full List of Candidates who are Running in Cowlitz County (coming)

Full list of Currently Serving Elected Officials in Cowlitz County

Precinct Maps

Full 2019 Precinct Maps for Cowlitz County

Abridged Version of 2019 Precinct Maps for Cowlitz County
Version I made with just those pages involving Kalama. Find the map showing the address at which you are registered to vote. That identifies your precinct. If you know your precinct already you may prefer to use the Cowlitz County Levy Codes List 2019.

How to read the codes in the precinct map/list: As an example, in my abridged version of the maps, page 5 is precinct Kalama South. Let's say you live on Birch St. in Kalama South 1. The listing for Kalama South 14.01 states:

Congressional 3 -- WA03 currently held by Jaime Herrera-Beutler (R), our House Rep in DC.
Legislative 20 - LD20, our legislative representatives in Olympia: John Braun (R), Ed Orcutt (R), and Richard DeBoldt (R) (who also collects 6-figure salary from NWIW).
County Commissioner 1 - see below (*)
Fire, Cemetery, School, and PUD are all obvious
City Kalama - Means you live in the city limits and can vote for City Council; if not you can't.
Port KM1 - Means you live in Kalama Port district 1 so if you were to run for Port Commissioner you could only run for district 1 position, but you can still vote for any of the three Port Commissioner candidates as they come up. (Note: Port Commissioner terms of office)

* Note on Cowlitz County Commissioners: From the BOCC website, "The three County Commissioners are elected to four-year terms. The county is divided into three districts on the basis of population (Cowlitz Commissioner Districts Map). At the time of election, each commissioner must live in and represent his/her district. The commissioners are partisan and are nominated in a primary election encompassing only their district. In the general election, all county voters are given an opportunity to select the commissioners who ultimately serve." 

Election Related Websites

Cowlitz County Elections
Official page from the WA Secretary of State specifically for Cowlitz County

WA Sec. of State - Elections
Official page of the WA Secretary of State

Campaign Explorer
Official PDC campaign financial reports filed with WA Secretary of State

OpenSecrets.org | WA03
Financing info on candidates running for major offices

VoteSmart.org | WA
Statistics on current state legislators

Opinions here are my own. Under no circumstances shall I be held liable for damages resulting from materials on this site.
Copyright © 2019 Sally J. Keely. All Rights Reserved.
CascadiaCAN is powered by renewable energy courtesy of Green Geeks.
Green Geeks logo